Novak Djokovic, Nick Kyrgios, Iga Swiatek, Bianca Andreescu discover their teams

Team names and player draws for the inaugural World Tennis League have been confirmed, with Novak Djokovic headlining for The Falcons and Iga Swiatek for The Kites.

The innovative new exhibition league will take place in Dubai from December 19-24.

The tournament features male and female players from the ATP and WTA tours divided into teams of four, and the event begins as a round-robin competition with the top two teams moving on to the final.

Each round robin match consists of men’s singles, women’s singles and mixed doubles.

Djokovic, a 21-time Grand Slam winner, was the headlining act of the men signing up for the tournament, while World No.1 Swiatek is the leading female player.

However, they will not be in the same team as Djokovic will join Grigor Dimitrov, Aryna Sabalenka and Paula Badosa in The Falcons.

Swiatek will team Eugenie Bouchard, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Gael Monfils with double Grand Slam champion Sania Mirza, who is also part of The Kites.

“I like it better when tennis connects people and it’s real entertainment,” Swiatek said at the presentation.

“When combined with great entertainment and music, it’s even better, so I’m excited to join the World Tennis League this year. I am happy that together with other top players we will bring tennis to a new audience in a fun way. I can hardly wait for that.

Alexander Zverev, who will return next month after several months on the sidelines, is at The Hawks alongside 2020 US Open champion Dominic Thiem, reigning Wimbledon champion Elena Rybakina and Anett Konteveit.

The Eagles include Wimbledon runner-up Nick Kyrgios, former US Open champion Bianca Andreescu Caroline Garcia, as well as doubles specialist Rohan Bopanna and recently retired Andreas Seppi.

“I love the team atmosphere. That’s why I come to play the WTL. It’s going to be big,” Kyrgios said.

The Dragons the Hawks the Hawks The Eagles
Felix Auger-Aliassime Alexander Zverev Novak Djokovic nick kygios
Gael Monfils Dominic Thiem Grigor Dimitrov bianca andreescu
Iga Swiatek Elena Rybakina Arina Sabalenka Carolina Garcia
Eugenie Bouchard Anett Kontaveit paula badosa Rohan Bopanna
Sanja Mirza andrew sepp

READ MORE: What is the World Tennis League? Dubai Exhibition puts a new spin on team tennis


Author: Shariq Mir

This is Shariq Mir years of experience in the field of journalism, Shariq Mir heads the editorial operations of the Elite News as the Executive Producer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.